Please disable your Ad Blocker to better interact with this website.

20 Senate Republicans Pledge to Reject Border ‘Betrayal’ Bill, 29 Yet to Declare Stance

A group of Senate Republicans has firmly opposed a controversial piece of legislation led by Senator James Lankford (R-OK), now dubbed the “Invasion Authorization Act” by critics.

The bill, developed in collaboration with Senators Krysten Sinema (I-AZ) and Chris Murphy (D-CT), has faced intense criticism from conservative factions.

Critics argue that it fails to sufficiently secure the U.S. southern border while allocating excessive funds to foreign aid.

This comprehensive national security supplemental package bill, amounting to $118.28 billion, includes an astonishing $60.06 billion designated for Ukraine in response to Russia’s aggressive military actions.

In contrast, only $20.23 billion is allocated for U.S. border security efforts.

According to Democrat Senator Patty Murray, the $118.28 billion national security supplemental package encompasses:

  • $60.06 billion to support Ukraine as it fights back against Putin’s bloody invasion and protects its people and sovereignty.
  • $14.1 billion in security assistance for Israel.
  • $2.44 billion to support operations in the U.S. Central Command and address combat expenditures related to conflict in the Red Sea.
  • $10 billion in humanitarian assistance to provide food, water, shelter, medical care, and other essential services to civilians in Gaza and the West Bank, Ukraine, and other populations caught in conflict zones across the globe.
  • $4.83 billion to support key regional partners in the Indo-Pacific and deter aggression by the Chinese government.
  • $2.33 billion to continue support for Ukrainians displaced by Putin’s war of aggression and other refugees fleeing persecution.
  • The bipartisan border policy changes negotiated by Senators Chris Murphy (D-CT), Kyrsten Sinema (I-AZ), and James Lankford (R-OK).
  • $20.23 billion to address existing operational needs and expand capabilities at our nation’s borders, resource the new border policies included in the package, and help stop the flow of fentanyl and other narcotics.
  • The Fentanyl Eradication and Narcotics Deterrence (FEND) Off Fentanyl Act.
  • $400 million for the Nonprofit Security Grant Program to help nonprofits and places of worship make security enhancements.

The bill will also:

  • If, over a week, the average number of people showing up at the border without the right to enter is between 4,000 and 5,000 each day, the government can decide to use this special tool.
  • If the average number goes above 5,000 people per day, then the government has to use it.
  • Also, if on any single day more than 8,500 people show up without permission, the government must use this tool right away.
  • But there’s an exception: kids who come to the border alone from countries that are not next to the US don’t count in these numbers.
  • Bill will also give immediate work authorization to “asylum seeker”

Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY) has given an ultimatum, warning that if the bill fails to pass, it could result in the United States getting involved in a war.

This claim has faced criticism, particularly since Ukraine is not a NATO member and therefore does not fall under U.S. protection.

Although Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell reportedly supports the bill, there is a group of Republican senators who are opposing it and aiming to block what they see as a bill supported by both parties.

The following is a complete list of these senators publicly declaring their opposition to the bill so far:

  1. Sen. Bill Hagerty (R-TN)
  2. Sen. Eric Schmitt (R-MO)
  3. Sen. JD Vance (R-OH)
  4. Sen. Jim Risch (R-ID)
  5. Sen. Josh Hawley (R-MO)
  6. Sen. Katie Boyd Britt (R-AL)
  7. Sen. Marco Rubio (R-FL)
  8. Sen. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)
  9. Sen. Mike Lee (R-UT)
  10. Sen. Mike Braun (R-IN)
  11. Sen. Rand Paul (R-KY)
  12. Sen. Rick Scott (R-FL)
  13. Sen. Roger Marshall (R-KS)
  14. Sen. Ron Johnson (R-WI)
  15. Sen. Steve Daines (R-MT)
  16. Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX)
  17. Sen. Tom Cotton (R-AR)
  18. Sen. Tommy Tuberville (R-AL)
  19. Sen. Ted Budd (R-NC)
  20. Sen. Deb Fischer (R-NE)

Twenty-nine Republican senators have yet to disavow the legislation, sparking concern and prompting their constituents to demand action.

If you are worried about the impact of this bill on border control and national sovereignty, it is essential to understand your representatives’ stance.

Here is a compilation of Republican senators who have not spoken out against the border betrayal bill.

  1. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)
  2. Dan Sullivan (R-AK)
  3. John Boozman (R-AR)
  4. Mike Crapo (R-ID)
  5. Todd Young (R-IN)
  6. Chuck Grassley (R-IA)
  7. Joni Ernst (R-IA)
  8. Jerry Moran (R-KS)
  9. Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
  10. Bill Cassidy (R-LA)
  11. John Kennedy (R-LA)
  12. Susan Collins (R-ME)
  13. Roger Wicker (R-MS)
  14. Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS)
  15. Pete Ricketts (R-NE)
  16. Thom Tillis (R-NC)
  17. John Hoeven (R-ND)
  18. Kevin Cramer (R-ND)
  19. Markwayne Mullin (R-OK)
  20. James Lankford (R-OK) 
  21. Lindsey Graham (R-SC)
  22. Tim Scott (R-SC)
  23. John Thune (R-SD)
  24. Mike Rounds (R-SD)
  25. John Cornyn (R-TX)
  26. Mitt Romney (R-UT)
  27. Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)
  28. John Barrasso (R-WY)
  29. Cynthia Lummis (R-WY)

The situation is critical, and it is crucial to take decisive action.

To effectively defeat the “Invasion Authorization Act,” a minimum of 41 votes is needed, making each senator’s position of utmost importance.

Constituents are urged to reach out to their senators using the contact information available on official Senate websites or through advocacy platforms. Click here.

ICYMI: Speaker Mike Johnson: Biden Is Not the One in Charge


Picture of Joe Messina

Joe Messina

All is fair in Radio! Politics, religion, prejudice, illegal immigration, legal immigration. Don't miss the "You're Not Serious" segment. We will be dealing with some of the most asinine items from the week's news. REAL and RAW!! You don't want to miss this show! The Real Side with Joe Messina. EVERY DAY - Check for stations and times.

Leave a Replay

Recent Posts

Sign up for our Newsletter

Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit